本能寺之變

織田信長,日本戰國時期後三雄之首,在本能寺之變(1582年6月21日)後退出了歷史舞台。他原本是最有可能終結戰國亂世的武將,可惜事與願違。

發動事變的是信長的愛將,明智光秀。原本光秀在整頓自己的部隊,準備出發前往中國地區支援羽柴秀吉(後來的豐臣秀吉)。沒想到光秀不只沒有前往支援在前線打仗的秀吉,反而倒戈前往主君所在的本能寺。

本能寺之變
本能寺之變

信長以長槍力戰受傷,最後自盡,葬身火海之中,下落不明。此役,跟隨信長百餘名的隨從幾乎全部陣亡。信長的嫡子,織田信忠,也在離本能寺不遠的二條城御所率眾力戰後自盡。

此事件之後,同為戰國後三雄之一的豐臣秀吉取代了織田信長,大致完成了日本的統一。

發生地點

本能寺位於日本京都

標籤

Incident at Honnō-ji

Oda Nobunaga (織田信長), the head of the post-three unifiers during the Warring States period in Japan, withdrew from the stage of history after the Incident at Honnō-ji (June 21, 1582). He was originally a military commander who was most likely to end the Warring States period. Unfortunately, this was counterproductive.

It is Nobunaga's favorite general, Akechi Mitsuhide (明智光秀), who was the cause of the incident. Mitsuhide was reorganizing his own troops and was ready to set off for the Chūgoku region to support Hashiba Hideyoshi (羽柴秀吉), who was renamed to Toyotomi Hideyoshi (豐臣秀吉) later. Unexpectedly, not only did Mitsuhide not go to support Hideyoshi who was fighting in the front line, but instead went to Honnō-ji where Lord Oda Nobunaga was located.

Incident at Honnō-ji
Incident at Honnō-ji

Nobunaga fought with a long spear and wounded, and finally killed himself. He was buried in the sea of ​​fire and his whereabouts were unknown. In this battle, almost all the followers who followed the Nobunaga's more than 100 names were killed. Nobunaga's heir, Oda Nobutada (織田信忠), also led a battle with Nijo Castle, not far from Honnoji Temple, and then killed himself as well.

After this incident, Toyotomi Hideyoshi, who was one of the three post- Warring States unifiers, replaced Oda Nobunaga and roughly completed the unification of Japan.

Location Map

Honnō-ji in Kyoto, Japan

History Tags